#11 – Visit and Walk the Capilano Suspension Bridge

Follow me through the “Story Centre” that portrays the early pioneers who shaped Vancouver and the Capilano Suspension Bridge. StoryWalk with me amongst the “Kia’palno” totems that connect you to local First Nations. TotemsUse all of your senses; see the beauty, listen to the forest, smell the moist moss and trees and feel the presence of nature surrounding you. With all of your senses and a bit of courage, take the walk across the “Capilano Suspension Bridge”.BridgeNow that we are across, follow the boardwalk trail around the perimeter of the park. The plaques explain the many types of trees, plants and wildlife that play an integral part in this coastal rainforest. Beware of the species that are endangered. Did you hear that? It’s the barred owl screeching, it’s feathers puffed up. The prairie falcon is quiet and does not like the attention of visitors. Both birds have piercing eyes.Bwalk

Look up!Look upIn the trees, there is a series of suspended walkways connecting tree to tree. It’s a different perspective from up here to the forest below. How they built this without disturbing the trees and using no machinery is quite a feat.TreeTopMake your way back on the bridge. If you dare, take the “Cliffwalk”.Capilano Suspension Bridge CliffTour complete and time to enjoy the live music and peruse the “Trading Post Gift Shop”.TPost

Like little kids, we made sure we collected all the stamps on our passport, proving we visited everything. We thought we would just cross a bridge but instead we experienced an array of things to see, touch and do. We were pleasantly surprised with the park experience and hope you enjoyed the tour.

My husband is a real trooper and has been on many of my adventures this year. This one he dreaded the most because he is afraid of heights. He kept telling himself, “this is safe, it is well built”. After all, a 46ton tree fell on the bridge back in 2006 and there was no damage. The bridge spans 460 feet and is 230 feet above the river secured by a steel cable net wire. If the height doesn’t get you, the wobble while you cross will. My husband said afterward that if we are doing #22. Ride a Zipline he will wear Depends.

PS The best tip off the website, go early or late afternoon.

13 thoughts on “#11 – Visit and Walk the Capilano Suspension Bridge

  1. I did this adventure as a teenager. Freaked me out then — it’s just soo flippin high up! Hope it wasn’t windy?? Good for Alan, will prepare him for the zipline🙊🙊🙊

    Like

  2. One of my favourite North Vancouver experiences! Truly a beautiful nature walk. Love the tree top adventure, which is a fairly recent addition to the site considering how long it has been open to the public. The swaying bridge can be a little disconcerting, especially when you get people walking across trying to make it swing. Yikes! Once you’re past that part the rest is absolutely worth the visit. Bet you were glad it was on your list.

    Like

    • Absolutely. The first crossing was pretty much ourselves. On the way back, packed – no fun! Great experience. Now I wished I had “The Grouse Grind” on my list.

      Like

  3. What a fun destination and educational too. It’s a great spot! Kudos to Alan to attempt the swinging bridge. Yeah, there’s always some yahoos trying to swing it! It will be fun they say….. 🙂 xx

    Like

  4. GOOD ON YA ALAN.. I’m with you on heights … Yikes …
    Heh gal.. you have made us put this on our “bucket list’ and I will think of Allan, as I do the walk.
    Thanks for your great commentary it is always so interesting.

    Like

  5. I am going to put that on list of things to see and do….I am not afraid of heights but I can see where that would make me a bit queezy…and the totem poles…thanks for sharing!

    Like

  6. I’ve always wanted to do that Capilano visit and walk when I’ve been out West, but never have! I will have to put that one on my next visit!! I hear that the “Grouse Grind” is a must! You and Allan are good for that hike!! 🙂

    Like

Your turn to comment

