#57 – Go to a Live Play

This weekend we took our sail boat Rugosa for a shakedown before heading North in June for our big trip (See #10 in “The List” ).

Poster

Part of the shakedown was to go to Chemainus, and take in the matinée and the long running play “The Mousetrap” by Agatha Christie. Both my husband and I love Agatha Christie murder mysteries from the books we have read to Netflix shows like Miss Marple and Hercule Poirot. Now I’ve seen a live play.

Chemainus Theatre photo courtesy of Tourism Chemainus

Chemainus Theatre photo courtesy of Tourism Chemainus

Chemainus is a quaint town and is famous for its historic murals and its theatre. The theatre sits proud in the middle of town and attracts people from up and down the island for its live productions. As you can see from the picture it was worthy of an award as the best building on Vancouver Island in 1993.

Chem2

Chem3

Chem1

We sat in the cheaper seats on the far left. But honestly there are no bad seats in the house. The seats are comfortable and upholstered in the typical burgundy red in amphitheater style. I thought the stage would be elegantly draped in purple velour curtains with ornate architecture over-head, instead it was an open concept in an octagonal shape. We settled into our seats, the lights were dimmed and the play began.

There were 3 acts, with the first introducing the characters. The second was the murder and after the intermission, the plot thickened as we were both trying to figure out who did it. The cast put on a great performance. I particularly liked the costumes and the actors’ accents. At the end of the play we were sworn to secrecy not to reveal “who did it”. As we left the theatre, I mentioned to my husband how I always wanted to be an actress. His response was “You are!”

I have actually had the experience of being in a play twice. Once in high school, where I was a stand in – no lines. Then in 1977 when I worked in St. Andrews NB. There was not much to do during the winter months. Tourists had come and gone and summer dwellers returned to their main residences. So I joined the MAD Club (Music, Art and Drama) to keep myself entertained. If you’ve been to St. Andrews you know what I mean. After my first winter I thought I was going MAD. I remember playing the part of a travelling salesman. I can’t remember the name of the play but I do remember it was a comedy. And I had lines. I started out with an English accent but remember finishing with a Newfoundland accent. The most enjoyable part of the MAD Club was that we were everything; producers, directors, cast, make-up and costume artists, ticket sellers, and promoters. It kept me busy and that’s what I needed. We didn’t go on the road but we certainly entertained the small town of approximately 1500.

8 thoughts on “#57 – Go to a Live Play

  1. Chemainus is a fascinating little town and taking in a live play topped off what sounded like a lovely day together – fun! Trust that you had a smooth trip in the boat – you sure had nice weather for its “dry run”.

    Like

  2. I like going to live plays, especially if it’s a musical! Been to 4 live musical plays in New York! Great place to see one!

    Like

Your turn to comment

