#44 – Treat Myself at a Spa

I can count on one hand how many times I have been to a spa. It has never been a habit of mine or something I spend money on. The trip to the Grotto Spa is a gift, one I appreciate receiving and certainly welcome. But what to choose? There are so many choices; facial, body treatments, massage, nail care. What would give me most pleasure?

GrottoSpa

“Grotto Spa” picture courtesy of the Grotto Spa

I decided on a Body Wrap because all of me would benefit. The “Glacial Clay & Seaweed” sounded good, stating it will detoxify and restore. I could use that. It is also so West Coast, so why not.

Mineral Pool

“Mineral Pool” picture courtesy of the Grotto Spa

At the Grotto Spa, you are treated special, with your own locker, spa robes and sandals. The etiquette is to speak with a soft voice. That’s hard for me. Maybe it was a good thing I went alone. If you arrive 60 minutes before your treatment, you can indulge in the mineral pool. The rain shower station is the best. Having it rain over your head and shoulders reminded me of when I was a kid playing in the rain. You can also enjoy tapas “à volonté” and martinis. You need to reserve for that and there is an extra cost.

The treatment was relaxing but invigorating at the same time. Covered in mud, sorry that was clay, and the smells of lavender, sandalwood, rose hip and 5 more the Massage Provider mentioned, was heaven. Apparently there is seaweed in the mix but I did not smell anything close to salt water or the ocean. I did feel like a caterpillar tucked in its cocoon all warm and cozy in a secret garden.

Lotions

“Lotions” picture courtesy of the Grotto Spa

While wrapped, I received a gentle hydrating facial. It evens the skin. That’s a nice way of saying it lessens wrinkles! After the wrap, I then received a full body massage with soothing lotions. The lotions smell good enough to eat.

In the end, I think I made a wise choice. Initially, I thought it would be just a body wrap but to receive the facial and then massage, it was a 3 in 1. I got more then my monies worth, in this case, the gift card.

All I can say is WOW and THANK YOU L&B for the pleasure.

11 thoughts on “#44 – Treat Myself at a Spa

Your turn to comment

