Sneak Preview

This is a sneak preview of what is to come when I complete “#10. Go to the Central Coast on Rugosa”. “Rugosa” is our 34foot sail boat.

I decided to post this blog for a few reasons:

1) I’m taking a course on Blogging and this is an assignment.

2) More importantly, I read a blog by Kira “Havasu Falls”  http://venturecollection.com/2015/01/13/adventure-logistics-havasu-falls/

3) In my comment to Kira, I was amazed by her photos. Take a peak, I’m sure you will find the one that looks like a scene from a Disney movie.

4) Her trip brought me back to a trip we made to the Broughton’s off the Mainland of BC.

Boaters that cruise in BC are aware of two awesome books called “The Waggoner” and “The Dreamspeaker”. They are the cruising guides for planning trips in waters of BC and learning everything from, obstacles to avoid, where to anchor, provisions en route and more. We read about Lacy Falls cascading over the cliffs in Tribune Channel and a must see while in the stunning Marine Parks of the Broughtons. As much as the write-up was descriptive, it was beyond spectacular seeing the real thing.

Trip VIew

Lacy Falls is only attainable by boat, or aircraft. From our marina, it takes about a week to get there. If you depend only on wind, probably more. There are many different routes. Here is ours in a condensed form. I’ve included a snap shot from Google Map to give you a better idea.

Pack boat, leave SCYC Marina, head north, navigate the rapids, passages, channels and inlets. Repeat further north. When you arrive in Johnstone Strait hold on. If the winds are from the North West they can easily reach 30 knots. Expect rain or fog. Once through, it’s easy sailing. Cross Knight Inlet into Tribune Channel and around the corner, you will find Lacy Falls.

Did I mention the wildlife along the trip? And don’t the falls look like lace?

Photo of Rugosa at Lacy Falls by Linda Matheson-Reynolds

Pacific White Sided Dolphins

Pacific White Sided Dolphins

When we head out to the Central Coast, we will go further north and beyond the Broughton’s and Lacy Falls. We will take our time, take in the beauties and wonders of our province and everything boating. We look forward to meeting the local people and those like us discovering new territory and adventure. I’ll be sure to keep you posted.

Shoal Bay

Shoal Bay

13 thoughts on “Sneak Preview

  1. Charline, I am really enjoying reading your blog. What an amazing woman you are! I looked at the photos posted .by Kira and it reminded me of the hikes taken long ago into the Grand Canyon with Serge, my first hubby. Looking forward to reading about your next project. By the way, your cushions look great. Diane

    Like

  2. That photo of the falls is kick ass. Made go back to the 60s hen my mom took me on a trip up vancouver island. Keep up the good stuff. 60 is just getting hot in my world. We are free of a lot of c$&-p. R

    Like

  3. Your trip looks fabulous, those waterfalls are spectacular. And yes, they look lie beautiful antique lace. I love the list of things you plan to do this year. You are a real inspiration. I will start working on mine tomorrow.
    Thank you!

    Like

  4. Pingback: One Day at a Time | 60while60

  5. Pingback: #35 – Buy Flowers for the House | 60while60

Your turn to comment

